Share This Post

Officially, Oreo sold in Egypt is halal

Officially, Oreo sold in Egypt is halal

Did you try Oreo? Of course, you do. Everyone knows about the dark cookie with the creamy middle.

Someone asked Oreo on Twitter if they were halal and their response sent Muslims everywhere into a major surprize specially it came in the middle of the holy month of Ramadan.

A tweet sent from the official ‘Oreo Cookie’ verified twitter account on Saturday read “Thanks for reaching out! OREO cookies are not halal.”

In reaction to the astonishing tweet, Muslims around the world began freaking out with the idea that their favorite cookie, one almost everyone has grown up eating, might not be Halal for consumption.

Official clarification comes after panic over Oreo’s tweet:

Oreo Egypt on facebook has said in a statement today to assure you that all of our Oreo products made and sold in the Egyptian market are Halal and fully compliant with local laws and regulations.

On a separate note, Mondelez International spokesperson, Mondelez manufacures, distributes Oreo biscuits across GCC region stated that “Our social media is outsourced and the message [tweet] came in two parts. Only one part was circulated, but the other part clarified in ‘the US and Canada’. The tweet is incorrect and has misled consumers in our part of the world. Oreo products sold in this region are halal and compliant with local laws and regulations.

According to this, Oreo cookies sold out in Canada and the US are not halal. In other countries, the delicious cookies are not just restricted to carn and are for everyone. Despite the fact these cookies contain all the halal ingredients, still, it is not halal certified in many of the countries.

The Original Recipe of Oreo Cookies

According to FDA the cookies does not contain any milk thus it has restricted the brand to use word cream for their delicious white filling. Instead, Nabisco now uses the word ‘crème’ for its filling.

In the original recipe the cookies, the crème contained pig lard which Nabisco substituted it with vegetable oil in 1997.

It was in 2014 when an American leaked the Oreo recipe to a Chinese company in return of 28 million dollars. He got imprisonment for 15 years. It was then revealed that the white color and creamy texture was due to a harmful food additive, titanium dioxide. It can cause serious tissue and liver damage.

The manufacturers enlist it as artificial flavor vanillin and not titanium dioxide itself. Therefore there is no proper evidence that cookie surely contains this harmful food additive.

Share This Post

Knowledge Hub Specialized in Publishing Insights and Analytics Developed for Digital Marketing, Public Relations and Communications Experts.